Not saving custom class components

Discussion and help for Easy Save 3
bbjones

Not saving custom class components

Post by bbjones »

Hi,
I'm new to easysave so may be missing something obvious but when I add a custom script to a game object and save it, nothing about the script is saved.

I made a new test scene with ES3 manager.
I have tried changing settings for Save Gameobject Children and serialize by Ref And Value but no difference.
I create an empty game object, attach my custom script.
Then click a button to fire off this code:

Code: Select all

for (int i = 0; i < this.ObjectsToSave.Count; i++)
		{
            this.saveNames.Add(System.Guid.NewGuid().ToString() + ".json");
            ES3.Save(this.saveNames[i], this.ObjectsToSave[i], this.saveNames[i]);
        }
It works, I get a new save file for each gameobject in the list, the contents however are only showing native Unity gameobject values and structure.
It will show child objects etc, but nothing about any custom scripts.
I have searched the forums and documentation and don't see anything obvious about this and feel like I must be missing something obvious since custom scripts will be on pretty much everything in a game.

One example of my empty GO save file:

Code: Select all

{
	"b48d835f-9896-4e47-bb8a-4c6af22f5dd7.json" : {
		"__type" : "GameObject",
		"value" : {
			"_ES3Ref" : "6705505823549809242",
			"transformID" : 1077788400736667770,
			"layer" : 0,
			"tag" : "Untagged",
			"name" : "LG_GameObject",
			"hideFlags" : 0,
			"active" : true,
			"children" : [

],
			"components" : [
				{
					"__type" : "Transform",
					"_ES3Ref" : "1077788400736667770",
					"goID" : "6705505823549809242",
					"parent" : null,
					"localPosition" : {
						"x" : 80,
						"y" : 416,
						"z" : 0
					},
					"localRotation" : {
						"x" : 0,
						"y" : 0,
						"z" : 0,
						"w" : 1
					},
					"localScale" : {
						"x" : 1,
						"y" : 1,
						"z" : 1
					}
				}
			]
		}
	}
}